Are you man enough? 

  
In March 2014 in a bid to turn 30 in style and after not having had the remotest bit of interest in sports since secondary school, I began my very first run….
A mear 14 months later I have joined a running club, taken on various 5 and 10ks, a Brutal, a Tough Mudder, 2 half marathons, been a sports brand ambassador, blogger and landed myself my dream job of PR for sports event company Believe and Achieve! To top it all off I was invited to be a part of the Great South Run official photo launch and had the absolute honour of meeting Paula Radcliffe herself. 

  
It has been how you say a crazy ass year and then some! 

This year I will take on my biggest challenge yet, a marathon, in my very scenic home town of Portsmouth. 
  
In the run up to the glorious Portsmouth Coastal Waterside marathon I have booked myself a few races to coincide with my training, the epic Great South Run to name but a few.
  
This week another cracker popped up and in order to continue with the mantra “one must always challenge themselves” I have decided to take part in a Spartan race. What is a Spartan race? I hear you cry, having heard tales from a few people, Spartan could be described as Tough Mudders bigger and beefier older brother! 

  
Having watched the YouTube vids I have realised it involves a lot more grit and upper body strength than the big TM, therefore, more man points for slightly less psychological stress! 

  
Having taken part in a Tough Mudder, I am only too happy to climb the rope ladder of Spartan and ring the bell of glory having danced in the mud and carried round a few pots filled with rocks! Now it may seem as though I am playing down the obstacles at Spartan, but, this post is written before having taken on the beast itself, by beast I mean the Spartan Beast run…. 25k of Man miles and 20 obstacles which could leave you rushing back in fear to the comforts of the local gym! 

   
 
The big question is are you man enough?

For those of you who aren’t scared of a little mud, there are still a few places left at Spartan Manchester Sprint and Super races (July 4th) and Scotland Sprint and Super (July 18th and 19th) and EVEN BETTER NEWS I have a special 10% Spartan discount code for you all! Simply follow the blog and comment below or tweet me at www.twitter.com/fitandnix with the words “I am Man enough!”

And don’t forget Finishers Receive:

-Free Professional Photos (to frame and flaunt)

-Badass Sprint Finishers Medal

-A trifecta medal wedge piece (run a Super and Beast to collect your remaining two pieces!

-Racer headband

-Finisher T-shirt

-Bragging Rights

-Goodie bag

-Results (all racers are chip timed for race results)

What are you waiting for?

See you in September fellow Spartans! 

Until next time,

N x

www.instagram.com/fitandnix
www.twitter.com/fitandnix
www.facebook.com/fitandnix

 

5 thoughts on “Are you man enough? 

  1. Pingback: Life begins at 30! | Fit and Nix

leave your thoughts or comments below...

